This is a test

Harvest 25th October 2014

IMG_0423

Here I am holding up a Comfrey  leaf (Symphytum officinale) as I had Comfrey to cut for Comfrey manure which again I created using Donal’s recipe for Nettle manure.

Comfrey copy2

It normally looks like this with pink flowers like so.

Comfrey flowers

My next job then was to create some Comfrey manure and I made two buckets of the stuff.

IMG_0422

I also finished the Nettle manure with two more buckets.

But now onto the main course which was the harvesting of the Jerusalem Artichoke (Helianthus tuberosus). TO quote a famous comedy I can’t say there’s much call for it round here but I got some haul. Just check out the box! Plus this was the second year it had remained in the bed having been harvested last year and left to regenerate itself.

Before

DSC02828

After

IMG_0441

Harvest

IMG_0450

The only problem now is to find some recipes to make them palatable. Suggestions, anyone?

One response

Leave a Reply

