This is a test

How to Move Forward from Here

2012-DeathValley-10-May-5282013

“The warrior’s approach is to say ‘yes’ to life: say ‘yea’ to it all. Participate joyfully in the sorrows of the world. We cannot cure the world of sorrows, but we can choose to live in joy. When we talk about settling the world’s problems, we’re barking up the wrong tree. The world is perfect. It’s a mess. It has always been a mess. We are not going to change it. Our job is to straighten out our own lives.”

Joseph Campbell in A Joseph Campbell Companion: Reflections on the Art of Living

As I am back from a long layoff from this I am wondering how to proceed. I believe we can inspire each other to appreciate our situation better so really this is my main motivation for blogging right now. With this in mind I have decided to share some thought provoking articles that i came  across recently.

This one reminded me not to be ruled by the values of others and totally resonates with since my son was born on the 10th March. So often we give up our lives for others only to realize that a) they do not expect this of us and b) there is only so much we can do. It is so vital to remain strong for our progeny and the best way to do this I believe is to remain true to our values rather than forcing ourselves to conform to those of others. Overall I felt this article was on the right track.

Going back to the statement at the beginning of this piece by Joseph Campbell, I feel we need to heal our relationship with the world rather than trying to change it. Perhaps this is the message of Christopher Chase’s article ‘The Hour’s Getting Late’ that I reblogged earlier today. There is little chance that environmentalists will ‘save’ the planet from destruction. What we need to do is embrace ourselves for what we are and appreciate what we have rather than trying to control everything. Like the of Tla-o-qui-aht people of Canada we need to remember that  ‘Everything is Connected’. It is pointless campaigning on issues such as global warming until we have reached this understanding. Otherwise what are trying to campaign for?

Whenever I go for a walk or look out the window I remember I am the same as the ground on which I stand and if it falls I do too. I hope we all remember this and that we can appreciate it whenever we can.

 

 

 

 

One response

  1. lifeanewbeginning

    Great to see you blogging again Matt

    April 18, 2014 at 9:16 pm

Leave a Reply

