This is a test

How To Be A Grownup

Wow! Anyone got any thoughts on how to be an adult? What a great issue and one that each one of us is constantly redefining and grappling with everyday of our lives. As I commented on the Belle Jar blog the thing is how to remain true to ourselves while taking responsibility for our choices and actions. Look forward to the response to this one!

The Belle Jar

It’s late afternoon on Thanksgiving Monday. I’m lying on a chaise longue on my mother’s back deck, a ratty old knitted blanket across my lap and a book that I am not reading in my hands. I am pretending to be a 19th-century invalid, recuperating from a non-specific ailment at a sanatorium in the Swiss Alps. I am breathing deeply, imagining that I am taking something called the fresh air cure. The sun is warm, its light buttery and yellow. I can hear my son laughing in the distance as my husband chases him around my mother’s small garden, and I pretend that he is a small Swiss child who lives in a nearby thatched cottage. I tell myself that he is amused by the antics of the goats he is herding. This is, I assume, what small, 19th-century Swiss mountain children do: live in picturesque cottages and laugh heartily…

View original post 1,972 more words

Leave a Reply

