This is a test

‘To be Cried and Laughed Down’

For all who are wondering where I got the title, it’s from a song entitled ‘Cherry Coloured Funk’ by Cocteau Twins. Naturally the line is not very obvious on the original version but on the recycled version here by Mark Clifford from the ‘Otherness EP’ it floats like a mantra repeated throughout the entire piece. I could make this a potted history about the Cocteau Twins, but as this is my first entry on this blog, the focus will be elsewhere.

Instead, I would like to take this opportunity to introduce myself by way of explaining my previous blogging history. In the closing months of the first decade of the 21st century, I was online trying to promote my writing skills via a website entitled Matt’s Megaphone on WordPress (you can still view the Facebook page here). My aim here was to showcase not only my written work, but also post blog entries about music, philosophy, nature, spirituality, films and anything really. This website ran from August 2009 until around August 2012, when it no longer worked. It has remained in this state since and I have washed my hands of it at this stage as I’ve moved onto pastures new.

Reflecting on my experience on Matts Megaphone, I feel that although the writing was good, I never really created a proper community using this medium and most of the comments I got back were mostly complimentary spam. Of course, as can be seen from the Facebook page, some of my friends were interested in it, but I never really engaged the people who came across the site to get their input. When I did a course on marketing using social media to promote it earlier this year, I realized I had been attracting the wrong type of people to my blog and website so really it’s about who you’re trying to attract.

I’m very interested in how amidst the clamouring voices of the Internet one creates a genuine community, one that produces content not just to starve off boredom or turn a profit. I’ve been keeping up to date on this, using tips from sites such as Problogger and Human Business Works. Click on those links and you will see two entries that should interest anyone blogging online.

But what I’m really most interested in is what my readers think about blogging. Is it relevant and what has been your experience of doing it? Most importantly, in what ways has it been rewarding for you? I wouldn’t like to think that I was putting in all this effort and getting no feedback, so I hope to hear back from someone. For me putting a post together is a bit like putting together a snapshot of social commentary where you share your knowledge and invite others to partake in it also.

A blogging community is about all these things and more. As I enter into this new one I look forward to hearing some interesting insights and experiences and as a part of a digital media class I’m sure there will be much to share and ponder.

2 responses

  1. I have tried some blogging before but it felt very intimidating, putting my thoughts and views out there for others to view. I guess I am scared of the criticism if I am honest however I aim to continue my blogging this time. This will be a journey for me and initially at least I will not be concentrating on the ‘market’ for my blog, rather on just trying to explore the experience. At present my blog is a very personal journey looking at my experiences within the Digital Media course. It’s all a new beginning to me.

    September 24, 2013 at 12:59 pm

  2. Thanks for the comment, Deborah. I think blogging is as you say an exploration of experience and each entry is a fresh take on that. It’s personal in the sense of being your own perspective and communal in the sense that we invite comment from others. Glad to be on this Digital Media journey as it’s got me blogging again!

    September 24, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Leave a Reply

